The Frankfurt European Banking Congress (EBC) premiered in 1991 on the initiative of the IBF.

From 1992 to 2008, the congress was hosted annually by Germany's leading banks based in Frankfurt am Main – Commerzbank, Deutsche Bank and Dresdner Bank – as well as by the Deutsche Bundesbank, the City of Frankfurt am Main, and the IBF. Since 2009, the chairmen of Commerzbank and Deutsche Bank take turns in officially hosting the EBC. Traditionally, the EBC takes place on Friday prior to the very last Friday in November at the Alte Oper Frankfurt.